Skip to content

Look at Me, Getting All Crafty

May 22, 2011

In about a month, wedding season will officially begin in our household with a shower for my stepsister, Elizabeth. The shower is back east, and since my sister and I can’t be there in advance to cook, etc., we volunteered to put together the invitations.

When I’m not reading journal articles, writing final papers, or grading, I like to do other things like paint rooms in my mind (or in reality), imagine what it would be like to have a full-time gardner, and try to fit as many gummy worms in my mouth at once as possible. (Did that last one sound dirty? I didn’t mean it to. You have to understand that the candy store down the street has the best gummy worms in the world). Another thing I like to do is make invitations. It is by far my favorite part of the party-planning process, and I guess this means I like to throw parties, which I do. And invitations are guests’ first hint of what a party will be like–will it be formal and elegant? Will it be outrageous and fun? The first part of a party arrives at your doorstep, like a little window into all of the awesomeness to come.

The first proper mailed invitations I sent anyone were to a housewarming party my roommates and I threw in Brooklyn. They thought I was mad for putting in all that effort into a custom “how to get here on the subway” card, complete with little subway symbols I cut out from subway maps, and printing them on this brightly colored paper. Ok, maybe that was a teensy bit obsessive.  But they sent the message! The housewarming was going to be a serious party–one so worth coming to that I put invitations in mail for it! But also, it will be fun, and you can wear subway shoes.

This fanatical and possible masochistic love of invitation-making reached its peak with our wedding invitations, which means that you now have to say you love them, even if you’re secretly thinking “she spent a zillion hours and recruited friends’ help for those? Poor delusional girl.”

      

Then there were the invites for my sister’s Vintage-themed bridal shower last December. My mom found the photo at an antique shop, and I used photo corners to attach them to the card. Message: women having fun together, classic, but not stuffy.

So, the theme of my stepsister’s shower? Handmade.

And her colors? Electric blue and coral. It’s going to be a great, homey, quilted, painted, awesome shower, and only the beginning of our dressed up love-filled summer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. debby permalink
    May 22, 2011 12:17 pm

    stitched invites – love it! you have such creative ways of avoiding mundane chores…….can’t wait to see what you do with the rest of the shower!

  2. May 22, 2011 1:25 pm

    I’ll keep your wedding invitation forever. I loved that the pattern used in the map showed up in so many places at the event- on ties! on cute little pots of honey! Such a charming detail.

  3. May 25, 2011 7:41 pm

    I love making invitations too… and cards, and anything else made of paper. But now I mostly display my creativity by occasionally baking homemade bread and trying to design afternoon activities that simultaneously satisfy me, Bax and Owen. Success = avoidance of meltdowns (mine included).

Leave a Reply

