Skip to content

A New Coat of Kitchen

April 29, 2011

So I mentioned before the tragedy of the kitchen. The whole thing, patch and all, looked this way yesterday morning:

Then, we did the unthinkable and actually finished the project! (Note: this time around finishing the project involved realizing that we would never actually get around to it ourselves and agreeing to forego any meals at any restaurants for a while to actually hire someone to paint for us). Here is the new and improved kitchen!

And look! No hole!

I chose the colors as I always do–by stealing ideas from Farrow and Ball  then finding similar colors I can actually afford elsewhere, in this case Sherwin Williams. Trim = Ethereal White, Walls = Canvas Tan , Backsplash = Denim. They needed to work with the white appliances and cabinets, so I didn’t want to stray too far, but the dark red was killing me. Finished just in time for a parent visit today! And in honor of the Bride & Groom, it will from here on out be called the Windsor Kitchen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marci permalink
    April 29, 2011 3:34 pm

    Looks great Hopie! I love the blue.

  2. Becky Sanderson permalink
    May 22, 2011 7:57 pm

    Maryhope! I just found your blog via Facebook and I love reading through it!
    We just bought an old house in Winnetka, IL and moved in a couple of weeks ago. We’ve been up to our ears in paint decisions… and also gasping at the $$ of Farrow and Ball (but oh their colors!!). We used some F & B and then found a paint store nearby that sells C2 paint (also European, but way cheaper) and can color-match to replicate F & B paints. I did a test… and the colors were almost exact. Not sure if there is a store selling C2 in Minneapolis… but just in case, I thought I’d mention it. xxx

    • May 22, 2011 8:33 pm

      Oh, yeah, I’ve heard of C2–they sell it at the hardware store in Providence. I didn’t realize it was European? So far I’ve been very happy with my low-budge color-matched F & B colors. The paint mixer at our paint store was so funny when she saw my F&B color sample book. She was like “is it ok if we write on this? Some people are very protective of their Farrow & Ball sample books.” Apparently, we’re not the only ones! And congrats on the house! I’d love to see photos!

Leave a Reply

