Skip to content

Honeymoon Parts III-X: I Will Stop Boring You With Details Starting Now

March 16, 2011

I think we can all agree that the previous honeymoon posts were far too detailed for anyone’s taste. I used 95% of my honeymoon word budget on the first 36 hours, so now I will devote as few words as possible to the remaining 180 hours.

We had cold sunny walks on the beach in Whitstable:

I would like to live here.

 

And in Yorkshire:

And we didn’t meet a sheep we didn’t like:

Then we went to London, so we could mix it up with some urban walking. A good (amazing, kind, outrageously generous) friend gave us 3 nights in this unbelievable establishment as a wedding gift. It was old mahogany meets glittery gangster and had the best bed I’ve ever slept in.

One night we had cocktails here, and after a few too many Singapore Slings and Clover Clubs, I told reception a tall tale about a great aunt who used to stay there in the ’70’s so they’d show us some of the rooms (I mean really–what is wrong with me?). I don’t know what they were thinking when they showed us a penthouse, which cost upwards of 3000 GBP a night. It was pretty incredible–the kind of place Sophia Coppola would make a movie about. Obviously we were like “oh yes.” and “this is lovely” and “perhaps we should think about this the next time we come into town, honey” while giggling under our breath.

We also went here, which is in Hampstead and was our favorite pub:

Where we ate this:

Steak and Ale Pie

And this:

Scotch Egg

Both of which made us think we’d died and gone to English pub heaven (real place, planning to end up there if possible).

If you’re feeling particularly bored and really truly can’t think of a better way to spend your time, you’re free to see all of the photos from the trip here.

Whew.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marci permalink
    March 16, 2011 8:20 pm

    I am not tired of your honeymoon posts at all. Plus you hadn’t told me about your flagrant fibbing at the pub. I am not terribly surprised, but am always impressed with your gumption.

Leave a comment