Skip to content

Getting Back In The Swing Of Things

January 16, 2011

Have you ever noticed that new school semesters seem to yield one of two reactions? There’s the September feeling of new pencils, fall coats, fresh notebooks, and seemingly limitless optimism and energy (“I will publish 6 articles this year!”). You’re full of vim and vigor. You will master the academic world like no one has mastered it before!

I believe this is how I was feeling here:

And what you can’t see here is that my pink backpack has a plastic Cabbage Patch Doll face on it with real yarn hair. I mean, have you ever seen a kid more excited for school in her life? On a rainy day no less! Clearly I was about to get some sh*t  done.

Then there is the January, post-Christmas, back to school feeling. You realize you haven’t written, let alone submitted, even one paper. Instead you probably accomplished something totally unrelated, like growing out your bangs or seeing how long it takes for a pedicure to grow out instead of being hygienically removed with nail polish remover. The whole feeling is utterly depressing, and I assume the origin of new year’s resolutions.

Anyway, this is a long way of saying that I have until Tuesday to seriously fine tune a syllabus and prepare my first several lectures, remember what classes I’ve registered for, and write a dissertation prospectus, and it’s all feeling a little impossible. Where did the break go?! The only solution now is to paste that picture on my office door to remind myself how I should feel and get to work! I can do it!

P.S. The opposite of having an unproductive fall semester would be, I believe, what 4 of my friends did in the last 3 months: create entire human beings! Welcome to the exciting world,  Max, Conor, Jackson, & Penelope!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marci permalink
    January 18, 2011 12:02 pm

    That is the cutest picture. Look at you set to conquer the world. Clearly you just need a new backpack to get that feeling back!

Leave a Reply

